Day 36: So Many Fucking Strawberries

I watched all of the first night of the RNC on PBS. I don’t know what I loved more: the hosts trying to explain who Scott Baio is, or their continued looks of fear and confusion as the night progressed.

I originally thought watching this shit pretty much unfiltered would be fun, but it honestly felt like it kept switching between white supremacists and people Trump picked up in his pickup truck last night who are also white supremacists.

Highlights!

  • I had a bunch of strawberries I worried were going bad, so I made a strawberry pie.

img_1721
It turned out pretty tasty.

  • As an apology for my subpar review of Stranger Things yesterday, and because TalkJams is still dead, here is a transcript of my friend James and I discussing the show. This conversation took place over 3 days and is like 100% spoilers.
JAMES: Are you watching Stranger Things on Netflix?
ME: I’m on episode 3 right now. I love it.
JAMES: Oh fuck episode 2 is so good!
winona ryder just went into will’s room when the music started playing
that is some scary shit
on episode 3 now, i love it haha
i feel like 2 + 3 are amazing
ME: It’s terrifying!
That scene with Barbara in the evil universe!
I also love how Winona Ryder keeps acknowledging how crazy she sounds. It just makes everything more heartbreaking.
Please tell me when you watch episode 4. There are 3 wonderful 80’s moments that I NEED to talk about.
JAMES: I finished it
The whole thing
ME: Bastard!

JAMES: It was so good!

I had to!
ME: I’ll finish it tonight. I had to work this morning or I’d be done.
JAMES: Yeah, I hear you.
What were the 80s references you wanted to mention?
ME: The make-over montage, the “foreign cousin” and the way Eleven wipes her nose and spins away after making the kid wet himself.
JAMES: hahaha yeah
the movie reminded me of so many different things it was wild
i dont want to mention any because i forget where exactly they took place so i dont wanna spoil anything
so i’ll wait til you’re done
ME: Also the panning shot post-credits on episode 3 I straight up said “Terry Gilliam” when I saw it.
JAMES: Even the way Hopper sounds and speaks is like he’s from an 80’s movie.
ME: Matthew Modine as the evil scientist is amazing too
He’s just evil. No conflict, no personal redemption. He’s evil.
JAMES: Yeah there’s nothing about him that makes you like him at all.  You can’t relate to him even a bit.
He’s just a selfish jerkhole.
I also like that Mike and Nancy’s mom tries so desperately to connect to anyone at all but fails at every turn. Family issues everywhere!
ME: So I love the actress who plays the mom(Cara Buono), but I love her more because I feel like she’s channeling Geena Davis
JAMES: There’s a shitload of stephen king in the movie too.  So much stuff reminds me of IT, the book (never saw the movie).
ME: Yeah no, it is so much more King than Spielberg.
With a score rivaling John Carpenter
JAMES: Yeah, the score is amazing and the soundtrack choices fit really well too
It had everything I wanted in it right down to the setting.  Before I even started I was like “This would be perfect if it had a fall setting.” Sure enough… I mean it’s closer to winter, but still.
ME: Yeah, it’s almost Christmas.
What I’ve honestly enjoyed most is that every scene from the trailer is completely different and better in context.
JAMES: Yeah.  I guess I didn’t pay too much attention when the first trailers dropped because I assumed that Will came back and had powers but it was a totally different kid.  That put me off at first but it is waaaay better that way.  There’s a ton of Akira in there too.  I also feel like the creature is straight out of the game Last of Us.
ME: Ahahahahaha. The scene where she flips the van. BEAUTIFUL
JAMES: YUP
And since you’re that far in, I love how there’s a solid bit of Akira in there with her attacking the people trying to keep her in the facility while in her hospital garb
The bullies are just like the ones in stephen king’s books
man there’s too much to even start going n about
ME: Seriously
I love Eleven’s character arc about her hair
JAMES: Yeah
Did you finish?
ME: On the last episode now.
JAMES: right on
 
ME: Holy shit, Eleven’s death scene was just straight up Akira
JAMES: did you finissssh
ME: Yupppppp
JAMES: so fuckin good
The only thing that really stuck out to me that i didn’t like
is when they visited eleven’s mom
and they had to blatantly point out to the audience that her sister was referring to El
by splicing in the shots of eleven doing stuff
like man, we know
we *know*
ME: Hahaha, that was pretty bad
JAMES: that was my only like
major complaint though
i loved everything else
ME: It was just so good
JAMES: They already discussed the potential idea with a season 2 and that it would be like a “sequel” more than a new season.  and how they like the idea of revisiting the same people but a bit later in their lives so each season its like you grow with them.
ME: Sorta like how tv shows work?
JAMES: hahahaha
i think they just meant that it felt like a movie more than a show
so they wanted to continue that feeling
ME: Hahaha ok
I mean they set so much up for season 2!
JAMES: either way they pointed out we barely scratched the surface of the upside down, the things out there, if eleven is still actually alive
ME: yeah
Seriously
JAMES: Start bugging Zack about watching it
I already did
Tell him it’s a cartoon
 
ME: hahahaha
ME: I do wish Stranger Things used more practical effects and less CGI for the monster though. Especially considering the scene lauding the effects in The Thing.
JAMES:Yeah, really.
The portals looked mostly practical but who the fuck knows
The organic components anyway
haha woo, apparently I’m going to contribute to a Stranger Things tribute EP
ME:Whaaaaaaat!
JAMES: oh not official hahaha
it’s just a bunch of artists
who want to make a tribute to the show
god i wish it was official
ME: I mean that’s still awesome
JAMES: Yeah.
idk how it’s being handled
but
if I had a choice
I’d either do a song called “011” or a song called “demogorgon”
ME: I’d do one called “Promise”
JAMES: That’s a good title too
for Mike / El
Wait
Mike / El….
Killer Mike… El-P
FUCK
ME: It was all viral marketing!
JAMES: RUN THE THINGS
ME: EL REPEATEDLY MAKES THE GUN HAND MOTION TOO
Ok, get on photoshop and make this!
JAMES: oh my god
ME: What do we replace the chain with? A walkie-talkie?
JAMES: haha
ME:Are you done yet?!?!
JAMES: haha i can’t!
i have to get shit done at work before i go to the doctor
JAMES: someone pointed out that Nancy’s boyfriend Steve looks kinda like Jean Ralphio from Parks and Rec and I love it
its mostly the hair
ME: He totally does
I’m happy Nancy stayed with Steve. It was actually a really sweet scene when they cuddled up and he asked about giving Jonathan the camera at the end.
JAMES: Yeah
I actually appreciated his character changed.
And genuinely too
Poor fucking Barb tho
or whatever her name was
ME: I loved when his d-bag friend basically came out as evil and Steve freaked the fuck out
JAMES: Yeah totally
ME: Poor Barb indeed. She was the only real character to die.
JAMES: Oh and Hopper on the phone was heartbreaking.  His ex called back and he hung up on that chapter.  That’s good.  Sad though.  I half expected him to end up with Mike’s mom but I think it’s better that he didn’t.  It would be too neat and too cheesy.
Also fuck that scumbag dad of Will and Jonathan
I meant Wills mom
not Mike
ME: I like to think they are together, but are taking it slow and keeping it secret.
JAMES: haha
ME: Do you think the actor who played Lucas got to interview Keith David or he just watched his movies to get the “ally who is also a dick” part down?
JAMES: oh my god that just reminded me of my favorite fucking reference
they fucking zoomed in on their handshake
it was so great
ME: OH GOD YES!
And it just held on the shot a bit to long!
JAMES: yup
ME: I’m just going to put this whole conversation on my blog.
JAMES: hahaha
It’s just really funny to me that it has so many references but I didn’t recoil in disgust at any of them.  They were all done *just* right.
ME: Especially in the second half of the series when it started subverting some of the references and tropes it was amazing and not gimmicky
JAMES: Yeah, I loved that about it.
You’re conditioned to believe things will turn out certain ways
and then whoops
there goes your expectations
I legitimatly thought Hopper was bad when I met him
ME: Paige and Jonathan shopping for supplies was one of my favorites
JAMES: He looked like fucking Jack Torrance
from the shining movie
he was even the “dickhead cop” for a little bit
ME: But then he had his amazing Kurt Russell/Rowdy Roddy Piper infiltration scene and all was forgiven.
JAMES: I loved that
he was going in and Im like “HE’S A REGULAR DUDE”
I said it before, but there was something about his voice.  The way he spoke, just the way he sounded even, that reminded me of other soft spoken 80s movie characters.
And then Mike and Nancy’s goofball dad.
ME: It’s true
Ahahaha, I loved their dad! He was so oblivious!
JAMES: “oh my god, is she russian?”
But a perfect 80’s dad
ME: “If Mike had a girl living here we’d know about it … Wouldn’t we?” *looks to wife for confirmation*
JAMES: yup
perfect
ME: The parallels between Hopper saving Will and watching his daughter die was a little on the nose too.
JAMES: Yeah, they didn’t need to splice the imagery
You kind of knew why he was so invested
ME: Yeah, it was pretty obvious.
JAMES: That and the spliced footage when we meet El’s mom + aunt is too much, but those are the only flaws that stuck out to me. I’ll take them.
ME: I’m so excited for season 2
JAMES: same
  • I definitely freaked my roommate out by sitting in the dark silently watching the RNC.
  • I spent the majority of the day wearing red boxer briefs and a green shirt. It was like my own personal Christmas in July.

By the Numbers!

Sobriety: 3/10. The RNC broke me. I also upgraded the official drink of funemployment by adding homemade strawberry syrup to the lemonade.



Healthy Eating: 4/10. All I ate was lasagna, ravioli and pie.

Sanity: 2/10. I spent a lot of today sitting in the dark listening to Republicans by choice.

True Love: 1/10. Girls like honesty, right?

I was telling her about Stranger Things, obviously.


 

Steps: 1,822

3 thoughts on “Day 36: So Many Fucking Strawberries”

  1. A few things: you didn’t have a government job. And you would never be happy with a lady who uses “all” in place of “I’ll” anyway.

    Like

    1. Yeah, but getting disillusioned while working at a non-profit sounds bad.

      Also yeah, that was a pretty clear dealbreaker. Hence the open insanity.

      Like

  2. It’s possible she was using voice-to-text while riding a bicycle, so she was unable to properly view the message before clicking “Send.”

    That’s really the only forgiveable reason.

    Like

Leave a Reply

