Weekend Update: A Forbidden Book!

I finally finished The Name of the Rose. Who wants to talk about it like we’re college sophomores? I’ve got some opinions about “truth.”

I only highlighted one passage because of its wonderfully self-aware absurdity, but it doubles as a pretty succinct summary of the story:

“But it is a story of theft and vengeance among monks of scant virtue!” I cried dubiously.

“Because of a forbidden book, Adso. A forbidden book!” William replied.

Mile a minute laughs!

 

Highlights!

  • I was wrong about which of my injuries was worse. I spent most of the weekend hobbling around because of my knee, not my ankle.
  • Apparently one of my roommates bought a grill? Also, our garbage cans are missing.
    where did I come from?
    There is a 10% chance I did this while in a fugue state.

By the Numbers 

Sobriety: 4/10. I ran out of aspirin and used beer as a painkiller.

Healthy Eating: 2/10. I went to the farmers’ market and still only ate garbage all weekend.

Sanity: 6/10. Meh

True Love: 1/10. I scheduled another date that won’t happen.

Steps: 9,116

Leave a Reply

