Day 73: The Get Down

I need to start this post with a sincere apology:

For everyone at The Board Room in Dupont Circle between 8:00 PM and 12:00 AM, I’m sorry if I ruined your evening. 

You came out for a wholesome night of board games and alcohol. You did not come out to watch two people use board games as a thinly veiled excuse to make out.

Battleship, Connect Four and Guess Who? are family friendly games meant for all ages. I apologize for sexualizing them so. I promise to be better in the future. 

Highlights!

  • I stayed up until about 4 AM watching The Get Down. As a white 20-something who has no idea of what the Bronx in the 70’s was actually like, I’d argue this show deserves to be discussed in the same breath as Stranger Things. Both shows just do such a good job recreating the vibe of the era with beautiful recreations/references to the pop culture of the era, and that doesn’t even include the descriptions of how to DJ. God bless Grand Master Flash and Kool Herc for being there to reign Baz Luhrman in. Also, The Get Down is literally packed with every character actor you could think of and they’re all crushing it. 
I don’t own the copyright to this image. I assume Netflix does.
  • I slept until noon, and didn’t put pants on until it was time for my date.
  • A bunch of Christian bloggers keep liking my posts. Let me reiterate: I don’t believe in God.

By the Numbers

Sobriety: 4/10. I was drinking while I watched The Get Down. Also during my date. 

Healthy Eating: 1/10. I ate some leftover meatballs and some cheese today. 

Sanity: 6/10. Maybe my sleep schedule is negatively affecting me. 

True Love: 1/10. I don’t know if I can really move the needle just for spending the second date making out. 

Steps: 5,821

Leave a Reply

