Day 78: Fuck Interviews

I had my in-person interview at the donut shop today . I showed up early only to be told that despite them scheduling my interview for 11:30 AM it was actually at 12:30 PM and I would have to wait. Somehow I overcame my urge to turn around and go home, and sat down to wait. 

At 12:00 – seconds before I ordered half a dozen donuts and left – somebody finally came out to apologize and give me a cup of coffee. Then, she had the gall to ask to see the email they sent me scheduling the interview for 11:30 AM.

The interview itself was fine. The owner ignored my questions about the overall direction of the company and instead asked me to pitch individual twitter posts. I think I came up with a few solid pitches in the 5 seconds I had to think of something.

As I went to leave, they gave me a free half-dozen of donuts as an apology, so it was pretty worth it.


Check back tomorrow or Wednesday to see if I got the job!

Highlights!

  • To prep for my interview I stayed up until 3:00 AM to watch Coraline. It was fine, not great.
  • I spent far too much of my day in cars. I took Lyft to and from my interview, then I took a Lyft from Franconia-Springfield to TopGolf, then I shared an Uberpool from TopGolf back to DC. I hate cars.

By the Numbers 

Sobriety: 7/10. 

Healthy Eating: 1/10. I only ate donuts today. 

True Love: 2/10. I trekked all the way to TopGolf in Alexandria for a girl despite being terrible at golf. Luckily, she was terrible too. Either way it was a good night. 

Sanity: 8/10. I deserve a gold fucking medal for not storming out of that donut shop. 

Steps: 4,622

 

Leave a Reply

