Weekend Update: New Status Quo

I’m getting rid of my Friday recaps because nobody reads them and I hate writing them.

Instead, I’m just going to roll my Fridays into the weekend update.

Highlights!

  • I worked a lot this weekend and barely left my apartment. It was pretty great.
  • I started watching Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell on Netflix. I really like it, but I can’t get over the fact that Mr. Norrell isn’t a pet cat.
  • Over the last few days I slowly realized Atlas was always playing the same Pandora playlist. I started counting how many times I heard “Lola” during a shift as I slowly went insane. It got to the point my manager and I would look at each other and laugh every time it came on. On Saturday, they finally changed up the playlist and I can’t tell if I’m elated or heartbroken.

Book Drop

I forgot to do this last week, so I did two books again this week.


Drown by Junot Diaz

Despite this being Junot Diaz’s first book, I read it last. I bought it to read during a solo trip to Vermont, and didn’t love it. Maybe I was spoiled by Oscar Wao and This is How You Lose Her, but Drown just doesn’t feel fully developed or realized. It feels like Junot Diaz trying to explain something he doesn’t understand.

I hope a teen of color picks it up and it speaks to them.

Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton

Ethan Frome is a wink in story form. Literally everything in the book is an unsubtle metaphor for sex. My personal favorite is the several paragraphs about Ethan’s wife’s “pickle plate.”

I bought this copy for a high school English class and mostly just kept it with me because it was small and is honestly a very good book. After 9 years of never actually re-reading it, it’s time to pass my joy on to another.

By the Numbers

Sobriety: 6/10. I think the most impressive thing is how much alcohol is still in my fridge.

Healthy Eating: 1/10. Literally all I eat is garbage. I need to fix that.

Sanity: 1/10. Well, I’m not dumb but I can’t understand why she walk like a woman and talk like a man.

True Love: 1/10. I yelled at sandwich girl for cancelling our date at the last minute on Saturday.

Steps: 18,012

1 thought on “Weekend Update: New Status Quo”

Leave a Reply

